Prayer Focus – June 15, 2012

15 06 2012

My Father, Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. I will hide your Word in my heart that I might not sin against You. Your Word is necessary for my sanctification. I want to be more and more set apart from the ways of the world and from the sin of the flesh and Your Word is the answer. Would You draw me into Your presence by Your Word. How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your Word.

Father I pray that the Word of God would find a home in my heart and in the heart’s of Your people. I pray that the Word of God would be like fresh cold springs of water washing over us in a dry and desert land. Amos foretold of a time of famine, not a famine of food and drink, but a famine on hearing the Word of God. Lord I sense that at times we are intolerant of Your Word. Our feelings and our experiences often carry more weight in our decisions than Your Word. God will You call Your people back to hearing and heeding the Word of God? Will You help us to know the fickleness of our feelings and the shallowness of our experiences in determining the will of God? The grass withers and the flowers fade but the Word of God will endure forever. The same is true that our feelings are terribly inconsistent and therefore a horrible standard in determining how to know and follow You. Our experiences are often shallow and our hearts are so easily deceived in the interpretation of our experiences. But Your Word, O Lord, never changes. Awaken us once again to reading and hearing of Your holy Word. I pray it would not be some religious exercise in checking a box and saying we’ve read the Word. I pray it would be done from a freshness of heart and a hunger of spirit that cannot get enough because we have tasted of the sweetness of Your precepts and found that they satisfy the deepest needs of our lives and the deepest yearnings of our souls. Help us to uphold Your Word in our hearts as the standard of righteousness and holiness.

We do not worship Your Word, but we worship You: the God of the Word. The Word is our means to know You. Paul cried out: That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings. Lord to know You we lean into You to draw us back to the Word of God where You reveal Yourself. I know this is Your will Father: for Your people to walk according to the Word of God. So I pray believing that You will bring us back to a good place of loving the Word of God and meditating upon it day and night so that we might have good success in Your sight.

“I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word.”

I pray You would do this for Your name’s sake so that our Savior Jesus would be exalted in His people and to the ends of the earth. Amen.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

