My Prayer Journal – June 14, 2012

14 06 2012

Father, my heart’s cry is for spiritual awakening in our church. I confess to you our lack of faithfulness to even some of the most basic Christian principles like prayer and bible study. I pray that our love for you would grow far beyond our love for the things of this world. I pray our love for you would exceed our love for our husbands and wives, for the latest and greatest technology. I pray our love for you would exceed our love for games, for television, for the internet, for facebook and twitter. I pray our love for you would exceed our love for any other thing, person, or place on this planet.

Father, we are a passionate, pleasure pursuing people. I confess to You that we seem to be so passionate about all of the lesser things of life and that our passion for You is but a faint light in the distance and is threatened to be drowned out of our hearts by so many other passions. Father, I pray that you show us our condition. I look at my own life and I look around at others and I get the distinct impression that we think that we are okay with You. I get the distinct impression that we as a church are so much like the church in Laodicea who had riches, clothing, and medicine. They had all of what they needed in life and yet You tell them that they are spiritually poor, naked, and blind. They were not alright with You. You tell them that they are lukewarm and worldly. Sadly, Jesus is standing on the outside of their church knocking and asking to come in among them.

Father, it may well be that our church as a whole could be identified at least in some ways like the Laodicean church. We are blinded to our condition and therefore, live as though we are healthy. My heart’s cry Father is for spiritual awakening. Awakening to deeper desires for YOU! Awakening to a fresh fervency in prayer, not for more material blessings, but simply for more of YOU and YOUR presence. Oh how I long to walk with You in deep fellowship and intimacy. You are my Father! Oh how I long to see Your church walking with You in deep fellowship and intimacy. Father, help us to BE men and women who desire You and who seek You.

“As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.” Psalm 42:1-2a

Father, may these verses be true of Your people today. May they be true of me. Fill our hearts with a longing for you. May Your Spirit call us to pray and may we not let You go until we have what our hearts most long for: YOU.

I pray humbly, believing You are doing great things and even greater are yet to come. Revive us Lord…for the glory of Christ in all the world! Amen


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

