The Spirit Changes Everything!

19 10 2011

Wednesday October 19, 2011: Scripture Reading  Acts 2:1-47

Sometimes I wonder privately (and from time to time out loud) how we Christians can be so averse to change when our God is all about the business of change…primarily changing us. We are, without a doubt, creatures of habit. We get into a rut of living and going about our business from day to day and over time routines become established. I’ve noticed that the older I get the more settled the routines can become and that when someone or some life circumstance shakes me from my routine I am apt to respond in not-so-kind ways. My challenge (and quite possibly yours too) is to not allow myself to settle into the routines of life. My challenge spiritually is to not settle into the routines of worship. When we settle into a strict and unbreakable routine we are limiting the working of God in our lives and robbing ourselves of living with the fullness of His Spirit.

That’s one of the lessons I learn from Acts 2. The disciples have been with Jesus for over 3 years and suddenly He is gone…crucified, dead and buried, risen from the dead, and ascended into heaven. Their routine of walking in the bodily presence of the Lord is now broken and they are left waiting. However the waiting ends when the Holy Spirit falls upon them in the upper room and fills them with His power. These once timid souls are now filled with boldness, filled with wisdom, filled with the Word of God. The presence of the Holy Spirit is their new “routine.” However there is nothing routine about God’s Spirit moving in the hearts of believers. The new normal for the disciples is a life broken from the chains of “normalcy.”

We today have that same Holy Spirit living in us. Will we avail ourselves to Him? As believers we have all of Him we will ever have. He is at our moment-by-moment disposal. The question is this: Does He have all of us today? On the day of Pentecost He had all of the disciples and He used them to turn their world upside down for the glory of the gospel. He wants to do the same with us on this day!

Pray: Father, I confess right now that I can do nothing without the presence of the Holy Spirit in my life, filling me, emboldening me for mighty works for the glory of Christ. I yield my heart, my life, my possessions, my dreams, and my cares all to You today. I come open handed, clinging to nothing, and pray for the moment-by-moment filling of Your Spirit in my life. Use me for Your glory wherever I go today. I pray this for Jesus’ sake and for the glory of His holy name. Amen!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

