A Prayer for a Faith that Fights…

6 05 2010

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” Eph. 6:10-11

My victorious Father, I recognize today that there can be no great victories in my life unless I first don the great armor provided by my Commander-in-Chief and pick up the weapons of my warfare and like a skilled soldier wield them in the attack against my adversary and enemy, the devil. But Father I confess to You that I am prone to enter into battle without first learning how to use the tools that you’ve given me to combat the enemy of my faith. I confess to you that I am all too prone to take up fleshly weapons of warfare that can never take down my spiritual enemy. That leads me Father to confess as well that I am too prone also to fight the wrong enemy. I am susceptible to fighting flesh and blood rather than principalities, powers, the rulers of the darkness of this age, and the spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Oh most Holy Father, grant us grace to fight the good fight of faith. Grant us grace to fight the right enemies of our faith and to not slaughter our own on the spiritual battlefields of this life. And if You be so merciful and gracious to grant this request may we learn to savor the sweet victories, though they may seem far too few to us, so that one day we can cast our crowns before Your holy throne knowing from whence the resources for the battle and the victory itself came. May in the end the Lord Jesus Christ be glorified because we cultivated a faith that knew how to fight! Amen.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

